Monday, April 23, 2012


Brief History

Cebu is a province, consisting 128 islands, including the Cebu Island. Cebu is well wide because it has 225 kilometers from north to south and it is surrounded by little islands. Cebu City is the capital of Cebu; it is the oldest city of the Philippines. It has 3 independent cities, 6 component cities, 44 municipalities, and several barangays.


Though Cebu has two different seasons, Dry and Wet, rainfall is not usually high. The wet season usually comes from June to December, while Dry season comes from January until May. Rainfall is highest in June and July. Cebu’s temperature sometimes, can reach a high, about 36 degree Celsius from March to May, to as low as 18 degrees at the mountains during the cooler season from October to January. Cebu averages 70%-80% humidity.

Geographic Feature

The landmarks of Cebu are very traditional and famous. Cebu is known for their great landmarks. These are some of the landmarks of Cebu: Cebu Heritage Monument, Magellans’ Cross, Fort San Pedro, Lapu- Lapu Shrine, Magellan shrine, Cebu Taoist Temle and Basilica Minore del Santo Niño.


Cebu is known as the “Island of Festival” due to the popularity and the number of festivals celebrated throughout the province. These are some of the festivals of Cebu: Sinulog, is a religious festival celebrated every third Sunday of January to honor their Patron Saint, Señor Santo Niño de Cebu; Paskuhan, is a Christmas celebration during the month of December; Kadaugan Sa Mactan, held in Punta Engaño during April 27; Virgin of the Rule Fiesta, to honor their saint, Lapu-Lapu. Despite of the number of municipalities in Cebu, only four municipalities have no festivals.

No comments:

Post a Comment